Roger Mills County



Coordinator: Judy Tracy


Please notice that all photos on this site are copyrighted by their submitter.
Do not "contribute" any material (including lists and/or photos) located on this site to other websites.

Return to Home Page



MEADOW BROOK District #72 (OLD)

SW corner of N1/2 SW1/4 of 25-13-25



FRANKLIN, Leona 1916
GRAY, J. E. 1917
TAYLOR, Nat 1918


School Board

HARMON, N. E. 1916-18
LOZIER, Ed 1918
RICHARDSON, E. 1916-17
THORNTON, T. E. 1916-18


Interesting history here: It seems that on May 20, 1919 Meadow Brook, Red Rock, Dempsey and Emerson voted to consolidate and form C-3. On May 20, 1919 all four of the above schools voted to consolidate but later on when it was time to locate the new school site and vote bonds for the new building - that is when the fun started. They voted down the building bonds so school was still held in the four old original schoolhouses.


C-3 School existed from 1919 - 1923 and comprised of four schools (Red Rock, Meadow Brook, Dempsey and Emerson)



BRIGHT, Linnie 1921
CARTER, Laura 1919
CASADY, Ruth 1920
CLARK, Mae 1920
JAMES, Pearlie 1920
MCGUIRE, Thelma 1921-22
MEEKS, Laura 1919
PARMAN, Julia 1919, 21
SQUIRE, Leona 1920-22
STEVENS, Stella 1922
WINBURN, Stella 1922


School Board

FRANKFORD, Wm. 1921-22
LOZIER, E. D. 1919
MARTIN, W. B.  1919-20
MEADOW, Mrs. A. B. 1922
MONG, Joe 1920
NICHOLS, J. T. 1919-20
PETERS, Lawrence 1922
SMITH, Otto 1921
STARKEY, S. V. 1921


On April 26, 1923, an election was held to dissolve C-3 - it carried and the district was dissolved and divided as follows: Meadow Brook (new) got five-twelfths; Dempsey got four-twelfths; Emerson got three-twelfths.


MEADOW BROOK District #72 (NEW)

SW1/4SW1/4 of 19-13-24



No records for 1923

BAILEY, Mildred 1928
CASADY, Florence 1924
FLYNN, Ilene 1931
FOURIER, Ester 1931
HUNT, E. W. 1920(?)
HUNT, Jeffa 1924
JONES, Kate 1920(?)
KING, Anna Belle  1929
LONG, Bessie 1925-26
LONG, Carl 1925-26
PETERS, Clodell 1929
PHELPS, Mrs. Floy 1935-37
QUATTLEBAUM, Mrs. Wiley 1927
SPILLMAN, Jewell 1928, 32-34
TAYLOR, Nat 1920(?)


School Board

BARNARD, Sam 1923, 25
CLARK, J. G. 1924
DAVIS, Anetta 1938-46
HARMON, Harry 1923
HARMON, Harry 1926-27
HOWARD, M. H. 1930
HOWELL,  M. H. 1926-29
LONG, Geo. 1926
LOZIER, Ed 1924-25
OUTHOUSE. Fred 1927-29
PURVIS, Anetta 1934-37
PURVIS, F. E. 1931, 38-46
PURVIS, Frank 1932-33
ROBINSON, Clyde 1923-33,38-46
STEWART, Joe 1928-33
TAYLOR, Perry 1930-31
THORNTON, A. L. 1934-46
THORNTON, David 1938-46
THORNTON, T. E. 1923-25
VEALE, W. R. 1938-46
WARREN, J. H.  1934-46


On August 23, 1938 Meadow Brook closed and transferred to Reydon and Cheyenne. May 28, 1946 by petition and posting of notices and hearing, Meadow Brook was officially attached to Reydon and Cheyenne.