pioneer wagon
Oklahoma Land Openings 1889-1906

Pauls Valley, Chickasaw Enterprise, Thursday, August 1, 1901

Pauls Valley Lucky Stephen A. Holcomb
Draws Number One in the El Reno District
Big Prizes Go To Oklahoma And Kansas

The drawing for farms in the new country began promptly on Monday at El Reno, in a manner universally regarded as fair.

The first number out of the box for the El Reno district was that of
Stephen A. HOLCOMB, of Pauls Valley, while the two big $40,000 claims adjoining Lawton were drawn by James R. WOOD, a hardware clerk, of Weatherford, Oklahoma, and
Miss Mattie H. BEALS, age 23, a telephone girl of Wichita.

The first twenty-five names Drawn in each of the two Districts are as follows:

Lawton District
No.1-James R. WOOD, Weatherford, O.T.
No.2-Mattie H. BEALS, Wichita, Kansas
No.3-Winfield S. LAWS, Langston, O.T.
No.4-Falcon WOODHOUSE, Elden, Ia.
No.5-Marvin D. HAWKINS, Wayland, Texas
No.6-Willis C. LAIRD, Fort Worth, Texas
No.7-Harry E. HARRISON, Omaha, Neb.
No.8-Lee A. STUBBLEFIELD, Dunbar, O.T.
No.9-Richard N. WYATT, Henrietta, Texas
No.10-Chas. C. DOSS, Shawnee, O.T.
No.11-Adelbert ROQUEMORE, Yellvell, O.T.
No.12-Arthur J. KINDER, Cheney, Kan.
No.13-Charles D. TYLER, Ponca City, O.T
No.14-Charles B. WILSON, Navahoe, O.T.
No.15-Asa C. SHARPE, Guthrie, O.T.
No.16-Robert McDUFFIE, Ennis, Texas
No.17-Walter E. OTIS, Charey, Iowa
No.18-John McKUSSON, Whiteboro, Texas
No.19-Joseph E. JORDAN, Norman, O.T.
No.20-James A. HARVEY, Alwood, Texas
No.21-John LANTZNESTER, Shawnee, O.T.
No.22-William KAHI, Oklahoma City, O.T.
No.23-Sam S. MILLER, Anadarko, O.T.
No.24-Henry W. PETERS, Oklahoma City, O.T.
No.25-Harriett AYERS, Dennison, Kan.

El Reno District
No.1-Stephen A. HOLCOMB, Pauls Valley, I.T.
No.2-Leonard LAMB, Augusta, O.T.
No.3-Frank ROUND, El Reno, O.T.
No.4-Calvin CHURCHWELL, Chickasha, I.T.
No.5-Charles WILLIAMS, Norman, O.T.
No.6-Ollie M. ROGERS, Cordell, O.T.
No.7-Edward C. ??IMPS, Watoga, O.T.
No.8-A.J. ?HILHOUR, (by agent), El Reno, O.T.
No.9-John L. BROWN, Caidwell, Kansas
No.10-John SCHULERY, Weatherford, O.T.
No.11-I.P. HILL, Richmond, Missouri
No.12-Stephen B. JACKSON, Byron, O.T.
No.13-Herbert H. RICHARDSON, South Haven, Kansas
No.14-Fred BAXTER, El Reno, O.T.
No.15-Orrid CHRELKELB, Golconda, Ill.
No.16-John W. GREGORY, Ft. Sill, O.T.
No.17-Jesse B. BOULWARE, Thurston, O.T.
No.18-Minerva MCCLINTIC, Oklahoma City, O.T.
No.19-Blanche JONES, El Reno, O.T.
No.20-A.G. HANCOCK, El Reno, O.T.
No.21-John HOLDEN, Norwich, Kansas
No.22-Roy F. CLOUD, Chickasha, I.T.
No.23-William B. MCCLINTOCK, Jefferson, O.T.
No.24-W.J. CLIDEEDALE, Seiling, O.T.
No.25-Robert A. WILLIAMSON, Wood, O.T.

Territory Prize Winners List of Indian Territory People who Drew Homes Monday In El Reno District Stephen A. HOLCOMB, Pauls Valley;
Calvin CHURCHILL, Chickasha;
Roy P CLOUD, Chickasha;
Kent B. GAY, South McAlester;
Ed L. SAUNDERS, Durant;
Wm. THOMPSON, Pauls Valley;
E.C. GAGE, Pauls Valley.

In Lawton District Evert E. SHEPHERD, Wewoka;
Arthur W. ALLEN, Marlow;
James L. KELLEY, Nowata;
Chas. A.L. OUSLEY, Oscar;
Champ WILBORN, Duncan;
Jesse R. KILGORD, Rush Springs;
James A. WASHINGTON, Coalgate;
Henry L. EAVES, Purcell;
James H. STROMIDER, Chickasha;
Erna GATLIN, Erin Springs;
Richard JOHNSON, Ardmore;
Nathaniel HANNA, Chickasha;
Chas. St. CLAIR, Muskogee;
Wm A. DAWSON, Purcell;
H.H. LAWERY, Chickasha;
Thos. L. BOLES, Chickasha;
Albert SEARS, Coalgate;
Henry C. PEARSON, Ireton;
Geo. C. MERRYFIELD, Oolagah;
Lon GATLIN, Erin Springs;
Jessie I. DINNISON, Rocky;
Wm. W. CHRISTIAN, Purcell;
John T. DUNFORD, Grady;
Howard M. BLOCK. Wagoner;
Wm. CHILDERS, Sugden;
Jasper M. PERKINS, Wilburton;
E.M. HUNTER, Marietta;
L.F. FROMAN, Springer;
Theo. E. COLEMAN, Ardmore;
Fred R. MCCONNELL, Woolsey.

Oklahoma Land Openings 1889-1906
OKGenWeb Logo

Copyright 1996- 2022

edit September 07, 2016
. .
page by