Cheyenne-Arapaho Lands of Oklahoma Genealogy
 part of the OKGenWeb and USGenWeb Project

Cheyenne-Arapaho Lands of Oklahoma


In Oklahoma the Cheyenne live near Thomas, Clinton, and Weather, Custer County; Hammon (Red Moon), Roger Mills County; El Reno and Concho, Canadian County; Kingfisher, Kingfisher County, Watonga and Canton, Blaine County; Seiling, Dewey County.

The Cheyenne are counted as one of the great tribes of Plains Indians in Oklahoma and a most important division of the Algonquian linguistic family. They have longed been associated with the Arapaho. The two tribes are referred to in Oklahoma as the Southern Cheyenne and the Southern Arapaho, a reference intended to distinguish them from their respective northern divisions on reservations in Montana (Tongue River) and Wyoming (Wind River). The southern band moved to the Indian Territory as a result of the Medicine Lodge Treaty of 1867 which was signed by Chief Little Raven as leader of the Southern Arapaho.

Treaty with the Cheyenne and Arapaho, 1867  (has names of signers at bottom)

The History Of Fort Reno

Copyright 1996 ~ 2023 OKGenWeb - All Rights Reserved

Site redesigned by Marti Graham, August 2003.