## Early Mayors of Hugo

## 14 Mayors Have Served Since Hugo Became City

The Hugo Daily News March 26, 1939 - transcribed by Ron Henson

Fourteen men have worn the title of Mayor of Hugo since this peaceful little Red River Valley city was incorporated in 1903. This information was gleaned from a copy of the city charter now in the possession of D.A. Stovall, Hugo attorney.

When Mayor Carl Sager steps down from his office in May and surrenders his title to the mayor-nominate, Claude A. Kimmons, Hugo will welcome in its fifteenth mayor in 36 years.

Of the fifteen to serve in the position, six are dead. Several of the others still live in Hugo and the remainder have scattered over the United States.

The most striking fact one discovers when scanning the list of names of former mayors is the number of times R.L. Jones, deceased served, and the long period of years he was active in the city's civic life. He was mayor of Hugo 15 years. He was the father of Mrs. Carl Sager, wife of the present mayor.

Jones was first elected in 1904 and served one term. He was elected again in 1906 and served his second term. In 1909 he came back as mayor and held the office two terms in succession, leaving it in 1913. He was elected in 1921 and again in 1931. He died while in office and Carl Sager, his son-in-law, was appointed to take his place.

Here is the list of Hugo's mayors and the terms they served:

J.W. Greer, Nov. 1903 - April 1904

R.L. Jones, 1904 - 1905

J.F. Larecy, 1905 - 1906

M.L. Webb, April 1906 - Aug. 1906

R.L. Jones, Aug. 1906 - April 1907

Lyman W. White, 1907 - 1909

R.L. Jones, 1909 - 1913

J.W. Milam, 1913 - 1915

O.W. Hanna, 1915 - Jan. 1917

W.A. Musgrove, Feb. to May 1917

Ed Linthicum, 1917 - 1919

W.E. Terry, Jan. 1919 - May 1919

F.M. Caldwell, 1919 - 1921

R.L. Jones, 1921 - 1927

W.Y. Webb, 1927 - 1928

R.D. Margrave, 1929 - 1931

R.L. Jones, 1931 - 1931

Carl Sager, 1931 - present

Claude A. Kimmons, Mayor nominate.

Those who no longer are living include: J.W. Greer, R.L. Jones, Lyman W. White, J.W. Milam, W.A. Musgrove and W.Y. Webb.